New council officially declared

Three new faces will be among those sworn in when the Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council meets for the first time in the new year.

After a mammoth wait, the council was declared on Monday afternoon.

Newcomers Cootamundra’s Les Boyd and Logan Collins, along with Coolac’s Trevor Glover have each secured a seat on the new council, alongside re-elected councillors Abb McAlister, Charlie Sheahan, Gil Kelly, Leigh Bowden, Penny Nicholson and David Graham.

At 18 years of age, Mr Collins will be the youngest councillor in the State.

After a little over two weeks of counting, distribution of preferences took place at the Cootamundra electoral office at 1.45pm yesterday afternoon. The new council was declared shortly after.

Former Cootamundra-Gundagai mayor Abb McAlister topped the polls throughout, in the end securing around 21 per cent of first preference votes.

Following distribution of preferences, candidates David Ferguson, Ros Wight and Maxine Hayes all missed out on election.

Mr McAlister, Mr Sheahan, Mr Kelly and Mr Boyd were all elected on first count. Mrs Nicholson was elected on the second count, and Ms Bowden on the fourth.

On the ninth and final count, Mr Graham, Mr Collins and Mr Glover were elected.

With a quota of 693 votes required to be elected, Mr Glover and Mr Collins were elected without reaching the quota.

The margin between the last elected candidate, Mr Collins, and the last un-elected/excluded candidate, Mr Ferguson, was 140.

The new Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council will hold an extraordinary meeting on January 10, 2022, to conduct the councillor oath and to elect a mayor and deputy mayor.

Previous articleTigers well represented in Riverina squad
Next articleSport the winner in the latest round of grant funding


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here