Starr leads compact Weissel Medal count

Temora fullback Hamish Starr has a slender lead in the race towards the Group 9 Weissel Medal.

Temora fullback Hamish Starr has a slender lead in the race towards the Group 9 Weissel Medal at the halfway mark of the 2022 season. 

Group 9 released the count to the public on Wednesday, and Starr leads the way on eight points, with the Temora custodian just one point ahead of Tumut captain/coach Lachlan Bristow and injured Gundagai Tigers hooker and Riverina captain/coach James Luff. 

Young second rower Josh Ayers and playmaker Mitch Cornish, Temora forwards Gavin Kite and Zach Starr and Tigers fullback Latrell Siegwalt all trail just behind the top three on six points. 

In the reserve grade counting, Young’s Matthew Murray has a four-point lead on 13 points, but no Tumut players managed to make the top nine.

In league tag, Monique Bullock is just four points off the pace, while Tumbarumba product and Wagga Brothers goal kicker Brooke Wiggett is his second, but both trail the ladder-leading Emily Perrot from Temora on 14 points. 

Junee’s Will McDermott leads the under 18s best and fairest counting on nine points, and again no Tumut players are in the mix, while in the under 16s competition, Kangaroos player Malakai Charles has the lead on nine points but Tumut prop Lachlan Breed only trails by one point and Angus Williams is three points off the pace. 

Weissel Cup counting after round 9

Hamish Starr (Temora) 8

Lachlan Bristow (Tumut) 7

James Luff (Gundagai) 7

Joshua Ayers (Young) 6

Mitch Cornish (Young) 6

Gavin Kite (Temora) 6

Latrell Siegwalt (Gundagai) 6

Zachary Starr (Temora) 6

Reserve grade 

Matthew Murray (Young) 13

Curtly Jenkinson (Albury) 9

James Strickland (Junee) 9

Mark Elphick (Gundagai) 8

Kaiden Bell (Gundagai) 7

Chris Bell (Gundagai) 6

Mitchell Carter (Brothers) 6

Matthew Fletcher (Brothers) 6

Elijah Tipene (Albury) 6

League tag 

Emily Perrot (Temora) 14

Brooke Wiggett (Brothers) 12

Jaxan Blackhall (Albury) 10

Monique Bullock (Tumut) 10

Bree Madden (Temora) 10

Jamila Piercy (Young) 9

Under 18s 

Will McDermott (Junee) 9

Caleb Piper (Gundagai) 8

Sam Neale (Junee) 7

Brock Sing (Young) 7

Noah Killeen (Kangaroos) 6

Jed Reardon (Temora) 6

Under 16s

Malakai Charles (Kangaroos) 9

Cohen Benson (Brothers) 8

Lachlan Breed (Tumut) 8

Dylan Bendall (Brothers) 6

Angus Williams (Tumut) 6

Cooper Wright (Junee) 6

Previous articleJoe Williams guest speaker at NAIDOC Ball
Next articleUndermanned Bulls take on Griffith at home


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here